Genetics, robotics, law, punishment

Debora Provolo, Silvio Riondato e Feridun Yenisey

Curatela (2015)

The unstoppable evolution of genetics and robotics stimulates a careful reflection on the role of law in the regulation of science and on the “resistance” of traditional legal instruments before unprecedented modalities of harm to individual rights and to the need for (not only penal) protection of new interests of the human person emerging as a consequence of scientific and technological developments.

The inter-disciplinary contributions in this volume deal with the most critical aspects with regard to: role and limits of penal intervention in the regulation of genetics and human biotechnology, genetics and constitutional rights, structure and functions of DNA and sequencing technologies, penal biolaw and issues of beginning of life, medically assisted procreation, pre-implantation genetic diagnosis, protection of genetic identity, cloning, gene manipulative treatments, genetic experimentation and research on embryos, protection of genetic integrity, punishability of incest, employment of genetics and robotics in crime prevention, penal protection of genetic privacy and genetic data, genetic discrimination, human psyche and free will, neuroethics, behavioural genetics, neurosciences, forensic genetics, new technologies and legal compliance, biotechnological strengthening of the person, robotics and biorobotics, telerobotic surgery, bionics applications and protection of fundamental rights, artificial intelligences, non-human agents and liability issues.

The following contributors have participated to this work: Gleb Bogush, Riccardo Borsari, Gülay Bulut, Stefano Canestrari, Carlo Casonato, Deborah W. Denno, Eric Hilgendorf, Roberto E. Kostoris, Natalya Krylova, Maria Beatrice Magro, Andrea Manfrinati, Adelmo Manna, Leonardo Mazza, Óscar Morales García, Paolo Moro, Emrah Nikerel, Lorenzo Pasculli, Pietro Pietrini, Debora Provolo, Silvio Riondato, Carlos María Romeo Casabona, Rino Rumiati, Francesco Salerno, Amedeo Santosuosso, Giuseppe Sartori, Cristina Scarpazza, Zsolt Szomora, Marta Tomasi, Ugur Tumerdem, Feridun Yenisey, Francesca Zanuso, Mario Zatti.